Planning & Zoning Commission


  • First Thursday of the month
Note: If items are submitted for the Board's agenda, meetings will be held.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The members serve a 4 year term.

Name Term
Gerald Taylor, Chair
January 31, 2023
Pat Larson, Vice Chair
January 31, 2022
Kevin Heilmeier
January 31, 2022 
Julie Oliver 
January 31, 2024
Stephan Ryder
January 31, 2022

About the Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of five (5) members, who shall hold no other office or position, elected or appointed, within the City, appointed for a staggered term of six (6) years. The members of the Planning and Zoning Commission are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by Council.

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets the first Thursday of each month. The deadline for application consideration at a meeting is two weeks prior to meeting date. The Director of Law, or a member of her staff, shall attend such meetings and serve as legal advisor to the Commission.

Powers & Duties

The powers and duties of the Planning and Zoning Commission are as provided for as municipal planning commissions by general law except as otherwise provided by ordinance. At least four (4) affirmative votes are required of the members to change any property zoned residential to commercial, industrial or conditional-use classification. At least five (5) affirmative votes of Council shall be required for passage of any ordinance or resolution that is contrary to a recommendation of the Planning and Zoning Commission.