Charter Review Commission 2021

The City operates under and is governed by its Charter, which was approved by voters in 1995, becoming effective January 1, 1996. The Charter Review Commission, consisting of eleven qualified voters of the City, scrutinizes the Charter every ten years to determine if revisions or amendments are necessary. The City’s Charter can only be amended by a majority vote of the City’s registered voters. The last charter review was in 2011.

Proposed Charter Amendments 

At the November 2, 2021 Regular Municipal Election you will be asked to vote on recommended changes to the City Charter. These recommendations came from the Charter Review Commission made up of 11 of your fellow citizens who volunteered to work with the City Administration and Council to evaluate changes needed to update the Charter (last updated in 2011). The Commission met over several months at meetings open to the public. These recommended changes were authorized for placement on the ballot by City Council on August 12, 2021. Below are the issues.

Issue 7.   Shall Section 3.04 A and Section 4.06 be amended to eliminate a temporary absence from the City as a basis for the President of Council temporarily performing the duties of Mayor and the Vice President of Council temporarily performing the duties of the President of Council?

Issue 8.   Shall Sections 3.04 B, 5.04, and 7.04 be amended to require that if a person vacating the position of Mayor, Director of Finance, or Director of Law was not a member of a political party, the replacement shall be chosen by the committee listed on the nominating petitions by the candidate, within thirty (30) days, and if the person did not designate a committee, Council shall fill the vacancy within fourteen (14) days?

Issue 9.   Shall Sections 11.01, 12.01 and 13.01 be amended to provide that the Mayor may appoint one (1) alternate to the Planning and Zoning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, and Heritage Commission (proposed name change to Architectural Review Board)?

Issue 10.   Shall Sections 11.02, 12.02, and 13.01 be amended to provide that the alternate may vote only in the absence of a member for any reason, or if a member has a conflict of interest?

Issue 11.   Shall Articles X and XIII be amended to change the name of the Heritage Commission to Architectural Review Board?

Issue 12.   Shall Section 13.01 be amended to provide there shall be an Architectural Review Board, which shall consist of five (5) members, and may consist of one (1) alternate, appointed by the Mayor for staggered four (4) year terms. The persons appointed to the Board shall be chosen on the basis of their training, education, and experience in matters relating to the appearance and use of buildings and land. At least three (3) members shall be residents of the City as shall be the alternate if one is appointed. The alternate may vote only in the absence of a member for any reason, or if a member has a conflict of interest?

Issue 13.   Shall Section 13.02 be amended to provide that the Architectural Review Board shall have the powers and duties provided by ordinance, or as those powers and duties may be changed by ordinance, relating to the maintenance, safeguarding and enhancement of the distinctive architectural and/or historic character of Overlay Districts within the City to protect and preserve property, promote the stability of property values and protect real estate from impairment or destruction of value?

Issue 14.   Shall Section 18.01 be amended to provide that the next Charter Review Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor with approval of City Council in November 2030 and every ten years thereafter?

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Related Documents


As a chartered municipality, the City of Tallmadge may enact laws that differ from state laws. The city may also choose to simply adopt the laws of the State of Ohio. The city is granted this authority by its Charter, the Ohio Constitution and various state statutes.


Megan Raber, Chair
Steve Clark
Helen Fire
Robert Higham
Kathryn Kuzior-Lindhe
Serif Krkic
Theodore Roy
Kimberly Sabetta
Randy Sarvis
Meghan Thompson
Mary Tricaso